The Summit Housing Development Corporation or SHDC is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation separate from, but working in conjunction with multiple County Developmental Disability Boards.

SHDC was created to allow all County DD Boards the ability to access Capital Assistance Funds disbursed by the State of Ohio.

SHDC currently owns over 225 homes in 17 counties; Delaware, Fulton, Holmes, Jefferson, Knox, Licking, Mahoning, Medina, Paulding, Pickaway, Portage, Summit, Trumbull, Tuscarawas, Union, Van Wert, and Washington Counties that provide housing for over 500 individuals. It is governed by a Board of Trustees and currently has four staff members. SHDC works closely with the County DD Boards and its affiliated agencies to help eligible individuals select the most suitable homes.

Consumers Living in SHDC Homes

Referrals for residential placements in SHDC homes are made by Service and Support Administrative Coordinators and are subject to approval by the Service Utilization Department. Once approved for residential placement, individuals will have the opportunity to choose their home. Placements are determined based on availability, emergency need and/or waiting list priority.

SHDC attempts to secure housing for eligible individuals based on choice, need, accessibility and location. Housing options must be developed in accordance with each individual’s level of financial resources. Individuals pay rent through their own financial resources.

Supported-Living or Medicaid-Waiver funds provide for the support services (through certified providers) necessary to ensure health and safety in the homes.